The state law of Illinois requires every individual to have an insurance ID card in their car at all times when they drive. But what happens if you don’t have one and you get caught?
Financial Protection on the Road
All 50 states — including Washington, D.C. — require all drivers and car owners to have proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility. The minimum liability coverage is enough for some drivers in Chicago while others still go for other car insurance like SR-22, which is necessary for high-risk drivers.
The minimum coverage required by the state of Illinois for all registered vehicles are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per individual
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per individual
- $50,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per accident
The bottom line is that driving without insurance is illegal. And it comes with consequences. For instance, you may face:
- Tickets and fines for not having proof of insurance
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- Reinstatement fees to claim driver’s license
- Impounding of your vehicle
- Potential jail time
The hardest part is when you wind up in a fender-bender without carrying insurance. The other party has the legal right to sue you for the damage to their car and other medical bills caused by the accident.
Driving in Illinois without insurance can get you into trouble. When the cops pull you over for over-speeding or drunk driving, the first thing they will ask for is your driver’s license, followed by your insurance ID card.
Without the verification of proof of insurance, you may have to pay fines. The first and second offense will cost you from $501 to $1,000. You will have to pay an additional $1,000 if you’re driving with suspended plates because of an insurance violation.
Expect that the state will take your driving privileges. You will have to surrender your driver’s license and registration, which may be suspended for about three months. To get them back, you have to pay the $100 reinstatement fee.
Every subsequent offense will cost you more, specifically $1,000 more. And you will be required to pay an additional $2,500 fine if you faced conviction twice and you wound up in an accident.
After repeat offenses, you won’t just have to pay the $100 reinstatement fee. You will also need to provide proof of financial responsibility, such as the SR-22 certificate, that’s valid for three years.
All this explains why driving with an SR-22 certificate in Illinois is smart — and necessary.
Getting an SR-22 Certificate
At Oxford Auto Insurance, we can help you find affordable SR-22 insurance coverage. We can help you get the proof of financial responsibility that the state requires.
You need it for many reasons, especially when you get caught:
- Driving under the influence (DUI, DWI)
- Driving with expired plates
- Driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license
- Driving after receiving too many tickets in a short period
Contact us today for more information.